Hitchhiking Colorado- Jim and Jenny

Date: Sunday, July 21, 2013

Time:  about 1:30

Wait: Less than 10 minutes

 

Jim and Jenny pick me up after waiting for less than 10 minutes.  Apparently the bright orange sign is working well thus far and catching the attention of passerby. 

Jim tells works for a company that delivers medical supplies, and his job as Vice President requires him to travel a lot.  “Essentially, we are buying out many of the small medical providers,” he says.  “It’s the way things are going now, since it’s cheaper for the states this way.  The state of Pennsylvania, for example, now only has two medical providers, and is basically divided between east and west with two main medical providers.”

The couple is talkative, and we jump back and forth between topic to topic.  They are super-friendly people.

Jim says that his father’s father, his grandfather was a farmer, but his father dropped the family tradition when he had to support his family and being a farmer was no longer a reliable way to do so.  “He joined the military, and got out of it,” he tells me.  ” Farming isn’t what it used to be, as most people know– it used to be about quality over quantity, and now it’s quantity over quality as the model.  The new modern farming techniques create food that is not what it used to be, and it ruins the soil over time with the use of chemicals and pesticides.  It’s all about profit yields without thinking about the long-term consequences on the land.” 

Jenny talks about having her first kid when she was sixteen.  ” I couldn’t take my tests early because the teachers wouldn’t let me, and I wish that I would have dropped out and got my GED,” she tells me.  We talk about Alaska, and she tells me that it is “where her dead beat kid’s dad lives.” 

Her daughter just started high school, and she told her bluntly about the changes that happen to people when you make the transition.  “I told my daughter to be strong, because women become bitches,” she says, laughs. 

Jim also has connections to Alaska, as he grew up near Wasilla.  “Great place to grow up,” he says.  “School rarely got closed due to too much snow– the only time it ever got closed was because the schools couldn’t afford to keep the heaters running that much.”

Before too long, we’re in Denver and they drop me off near Colorado Blvd.  Jenny tells me that she probably wouldn’t have picked me up by herself, just because all of the stuff she reads and hears on the news, but it was Jim’s idea.  I thank them for the lift, and hop out. 

Leave a Reply

