Friday, March 1, 2013

Date: Friday, March 1, 2013- Denver to Colorado Springs

Time: About 7:30 a.m. off Lincoln Exit

Wait: about 2 hours

Hitch:  City of Lone Tree Police and Jennasen and Evan, “heading to Dallas for a wedding”

Occupation:  Evan- architect

You know, this is the second time that the City of Lone Tree police have hassled me, now making it two weeks in a row.  After working the night shift, I head to Lincoln exit and wait for over an hour and people in new SUVs pass me on by. The air is dry and cold as I wait, and there is a layer of now muddy snow left from the snow coating we received about three days ago.  I have to say I am highly disappointed when I see the black and white police cruiser roll up with its lights on.

There are two police in the vehicle; it becomes immediately apparent that one is doing some sort of training with the senior officer.  He tells me that you “aren’t allowed to hitchhike.”  It feels wrong to have to try to justify what I am doing with a law enforcement officer being that what I am doing would never hurt anyone and do nothing but good.  I suppose the mainstream world is the way it is, and the majority of people live in a constant state of fear, and are pathetic laws are a result of it.

He tells me that there is a “Front Range Express” transportation system that he thinks I can take to Colorado Springs.  Do you have money? he asks me.  I tell him yes.  Don’t pigeon-hole me, I think to myself.  We live in a mostly shallow world.

The lead officer pats me down and treats me like a criminal.  “I’m not carrying a weapon”, I tell him dryly.  What gives someone a right to confront me like this?  Why is this acceptable in our society?

I realize that I just have to come to terms with how it is, even though it’s completely ridiculous and makes no sense.  “It’s for your safety”, the officer tells me.  I can tell that the officer knows that he is bullshitting even himself, not alone me.

I speak my mind and tell him that I do not consider what I am doing to be “soliciting” and that I have a sense of responsibility for myself and do not wish for someone else to look over me.  This is not me being a “smart ass”, I tell him in an impartial tone of voice and speak free.  I know that even the officers hate the fact that they have to hassle me, secretly to themselves.  Meanwhile, a horrible crime is probably actually happening somewhere while they are forced to hassle a hitchhiker.

Something changes in the officer, and I can tell that he knows that I’m an alert person and not the “stereotypical hitchhiker.”  He tells me that they’re going to try to find out where this “transportation place” is to Colorado Springs. 

I already know, from doing research myself, that there no longer is a transportation system in operation from Denver to Colorado Springs.  I don’t tell them this, and I think they know it to; instead they are in the car talking amongst each other and trying to decide what to do with me!

Ah, tax dollars hard at work, as they say.

I think to myself that I truly need to find a different spot to hitch from leaving Denver; maybe more inner city… the area I am in is obviously and upper-class area full of snobs that drive Lexus SUVs with cell phones and coffees in their hands.  My willingness to make myself vulnerable and meet new acquaintances obviously offends these shallow people.

So after a few minutes of chatting amongst themselves, the two officers come back and the one tells me , ” You know, I don’t usually do this, but I think we’ll give you a ride a few exits up so you’re out of our jurisdiction.  You seem like an intelligent guy.”

Thanks, I think.  Now I’m talking to Good Cop.

On the ride north, they tell me that an “anonymous person” had called and complained that someone was hitchhiking.  On their computer, I can see that someone had called about 20 minutes ago.  It must be really slow to respond that fast to a lame call like that, I think to myself.

It definitely confirms what I thought— this area is full of rich, snobby white people.

“It is what it is”, says one of the cops when I ask him about.  “You know, if it was thirty years ago, we wouldn’t care but now, with every thing that’s on the News…”

They drop me off a few exits North, just out of their jurisdiction. “You know”, one cop says, “sometimes I wish I was still in your shoes. Good luck.” I walk onto the merge, and in a matter of less than 30 seconds, a car stops.  It evens begins backing up down the merge so I don’t have to jog as far to catch up with them!

They are a couple heading to Dallas, Texas for a friends’ wedding (they live in Bozeman, Montana) and they have their dog named Comet in the back seat.  She is a bundle of excitement and upon first glance, it become evidently clear that this dog is a GOOD GIRL. I thank them for stopping, throw my stuff in the back and Comet jumps in the back seat with me. 

There names are Jennasen and Evan. Evan is an architect, and we start talking about renewable energy, and this sets him off into a tangent that pretty much lasts till we get all the way to Colorado Springs.  The guy is literally an encyclopedia when it comes to the topic.

We talk about futuristic concepts that could very well be implemented in the present day, such as agriculture.  “Think about it”, he says, channeling an energy that 100% focus.  ” All the food in the world is made by less than one percent of the people.  The food we eat is crap, and it’s pumped with all kinds of chemicals, and there is no desire to change the standard, because it has to be mass produced and there is no competition.”

If everyone grew their own food, or at least most people, the positive results would be tenfold.  It would create jobs, higher standards for food, and it would be ecologically friendly because there would be less gas spent on transporting the crops; also there would be no chemicals leaked into the food we eat.

We talk about massive power supplies, such as water dams.  “They are really a waste, unless it’s on a smaller level”, he tells me.  “The resources it takes to power a huge dam and the damage it does to the ecosystem alone, such as interrupting the routes of the fish migration, alone make it not worth it.  If you do it at a micro level, such as moving water with an old alternator in a small household, it is feasible and worth the efforts.” 
In other words, it’s just another way for Corporations to appear good on the outside, to stretch their plasticity. 

“Underwater small wind turbines can be a good idea, as long as they do not interfere with the ecosystem”, Evan says.  “Underwater, the current can be constant, unlike what wind can be on the outside atmosphere.”

Evan says that he is in the process of building a solar-efficient (not solar powered) addition on the top of their house in Montana. 

On top of talking about this and the ludicrousness of some of the laws in our society, we find ourselves in Colorado Springs in no time. They drop me off right at the door and I give them one of my books.  We exchange information and they tell me to get hold of them if I’m ever in Montana again.

For next week, my objective will be to find a new spot to hitch out of Denver other than Lincoln exit, as it appears it is full of wealthy losers that hide inside their giant SUV spaceships and try to push their power complex by calling in to the police department and wasting everyone’s time.

I guess I’m just stubborn, but this won’t stop me on my “Thumbs Up Social Experiment.” 

If every experience I’ve had so far has been nothing but absolutely positive, what harm is it really doing other than annoying a few rich, plastic, non-contributing members of society?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

